Still In A Finishing Mood

I’ve had these bracelets sitting on the edge of my workbench for a couple of weeks now and finally got back to them.

As often happens, I was chugging away on them, merrily enjoying my flow when along comes a cake. While cake and polymer share a lot of similar techniques, they cannot, under any circumstance, share tools and equipment. So, they got put off to the side mid-project as the cake deadline drew closer (and closer as I went through the week thinking that I had until Sunday afternoon, nope, Saturday).

I’ve been wanting to catch up on a lot of those quilt tops that I’ve finished but haven’t done anything with (over a dozen at last count) so I needed to clear the work table a little more, hence, the little bracelets get their moment in the sun (well, the oven).

These were supposed to be snakeskin looking but that’s not really coming through.  I was supposed to do the texture imprinting with this gutter screen but I never got to the hardware store and seriously doubted that they sold it in 6″ lengths.  What on earth was I going to do with the leftovers?  I tried using some modeling screen that I already had, it was the same diamond mesh pattern as the Gutter Guard but much smaller scale.  I’m thinking that it did actually make a difference in this case, I had to  pay WAY more attention to how thin I was shaving slices.

I’m going to try to hit a hardware store tomorrow and at least price the stuff, see if it exists, you know, the homework.

Leave a comment